Physician Referral

BGA strives to provide quality patient care and excellent physician services. We participate in a wide variety of insurance plans and appreciate the opportunity to care for your patients. The physicians at Birmingham Gastroenterology Associates are appreciative of any opportunity to assist in the care of our colleagues’ patients. We are prepared to receive physician referrals via EPHI and Direct Messaging if you would like to provide them electronically. If you elect to send a referral via EPHI, the following information is appreciated to ensure we can care for your patient as quickly as possible:

  • Office Note (last 2 visits)
  • Medications
  • Allergies
  • Labs (last 2 visits)
  • Diagnostics (last 2 visits)
  • Family History
  • Demographics
  • Problem List
  • Height/Weight

Physician Offices may also schedule an office visit or procedure via phone or fax:

  • Please call 205-271-8000 and press option 2. Schedulers are available Monday-Friday 8:30-5:00.
  • Or download Our Referral Form  and fax it to us at 205-329-7444

Use your EHR’s Direct Messaging function to send us referrals, Summaries of Care, and other patient updates. You can send referrals and care updates to a specific provider using their individual Direct Messaging address or send something to the practice by using the practice DM address: direct@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net.

Physician Name Physician’s Direct Address (request from EHR)
Rishi K. Agarwal, MD rishiagarwal@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
Charles S. Bluhm, MD charlesbluhm@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
J. Lynn Cochran, MD jlynncochran@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
Charles A. Dasher, Jr., MD charlesdasherjr@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
Donny D. Kakati, MD donnykakati@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
David J. Landy, MD davidlandy@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
Owen R. McLean, MD owenmclean@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
P. David Miller, MD pdavidmiller@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
Rajat N. Parikh, MD rajatparikh@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
Michael J. Passarella, MD michaelpassarella@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
Michael T. Phillips, MD michaelphillips@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
J. Cotton Shallcross,Jr., MD jcottonshallcross@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
Christopher P. Shaver, MD christophershaver@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
David T. Steele, MD davidsteele@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
Candace Arnold, CRNP candacearnold@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
Danielle Blackard, CRNP danielleblackard@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
Morgan Leeth, CRNP morganleeth@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
Katie Plourd, CRNP katieplourd@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
Sarah Tate, PA sarahtate@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
Mary Katherine Veazey, CRNP marykatherineveazey@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net
Tameria Williams, CRNP tameriawilliams@bgapc.allscriptsdirect.net

Schedule Your Appointment Today

  • MM slash DD slash YYYY
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.